Scott McLaughlin’s win at the Century Batteries Ipswich SuperSprint has secured the 2019 Manufacturers title for Ford. Unlike the drivers’ and teams’ crowns, the manufacturers’ award is based solely on race wins.

Ford’s new Mustang has taken 17 of the 20 held to date in 2019, and now cannot be beaten with 12 races remaining. The Blue Oval’s haul has been largely thanks to Scott McLaughlin, who has won 14 of its total.

Shell V-Power Racing team-mate Fabian Coulthard has added two victories, and Tickford Racing’s Chaz Mostert one.

Holden had wrestled the Champion Manufacturer title away from Ford last year, following a strong season for its then-new ZB Commodore.

Ford’s 2017 triumph had broken a streak of seven consecutive titles for Holden, stretching back to Triple Eight’s first season running Commodores.

The manufacturers’ title has been awarded since 1999, with Holden winning 14 times and Ford seven.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button